Eastern Box Turtle

(5 images.) Always a treat to meet up with these guys! In the hollow where I find them there is no danger to them whatsoever, no busy roadways nearby and no one to disturb them except for me, and I tread carefully in late spring before or after rainfall, when they are sure to come out where they are visible. This one was sitting perfectly still, no doubt afraid of me and not very happy about the flashing camera. These are not great pictures but my cameras are not great either…in low light I do need a stabilizer; but when I go hiking I almost never think to carry my mono-pod…

It’s July now, but with all the wet weather we’ve been having, I’m sure the turtles in the hollow are out and about, enjoying it!

http://www.bio.davidson.edu/people/midorcas/research/contribute/box%20turtle/boxinfo.htm

eastern box turtle

eastern box turtle

eastern box turtle

eastern box turtle

eastern box turtle

2 thoughts on “Eastern Box Turtle

  1. Francis Buckley June 5, 2014 / 11:16 pm

    I think this is actually an Eastern Box Turtle. And a very beautifully colored male (red eyes). Nice pics

    • wildwanderingirl June 6, 2014 / 2:05 am

      Thank you 😀 I stand corrected! I love these guys even though I didn’t have a chance for any meetups this year.

Leave a Reply

