Cats’ light

Sometimes before a storm the light looks pale green or yellow, this is particularly noticeable if rain is predicted after sunset. My mother and grandmother always called this greenish hue “cat’s light.” Of course under trees and around water, the effect is enhanced…

creek in woods before storm, southern indiana

creek in woods before storm, southern indiana

creek in woods before storm, southern indiana

A little different look to the 3rd photo here, I used Fractalius, which you can see to best effect if you click on the image below for the full size version:

creek in woods before storm, fractaliused effect

2 thoughts on “Cats’ light

  1. Schelley - What Is It?!? May 15, 2013 / 12:45 am

    Beautiful photos. I’ve always called these “green days,” but how neat it’s really called “cat’s light.”

    • wildwanderingirl May 16, 2013 / 3:22 am

      Thank you 😀 Oddly enough I can’t find any mention of “cat’s light” anywhere online, but I know my elders used the term and I’m sure I have it in a book someplace too…

Leave a Reply

